Whats to fear...?

Post general discussions here
RamblerDodger

Whats to fear...?

Post by RamblerDodger » Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:53 pm

Hey everyone, i'll try not to ramble...
I'm somewhat new to the prepper movement, having bought my first house and started a family within the last few years. I did, however, grow up in the country and currently live in small-town-nowhere, so I understand the necessity and benefits of being self sufficient and frugal as a day-to-day lifestyle.

My wife and I are doing what we can to stock a pantry and keep drinkable water on hand, along with alternative sources of heating, cooking and light. But other then the occasional black out, flooded basement, or hellish snowfall...why prep?

I'm definitely conflicted due to my belief that the whole prepping movement is perpetuated from the FEAR of something horrible happening (either environmentally, ecologically, or socially) and I'm finding it hard to decipher the reality of the state of the world, and how it directly effects my area/region/province, from the hype thats created from not only the media but also the 'dooms-day-ers'. I think what I'm trying to say is that I don't want to get caught up in blind consumerism from my honest to God belief that its better to be prepared then to not...but my question is, for what? Really...Ontario, perhaps only comparatively, is one of the nicest places to live!